The New Soul

Therefore if anyone in Christ, he is a new creation; the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.

– St. Paul, 2 Corinthians 5:17, LEB

I have to confess to you through this post that I had troubled past in my teenage years. I do not need to tell you the details, but the point is that I do not have privileges & facilities most teen have at that time which boost their development as a budding human being secure. For me, it’s like a stunted growth period.

I have to be honest to you also that Up until now, in my 20-something age I still am striving to catch up with my troubled Past – filling up Past gaps in the midst 0f ever-decreasing time slot as a working man. It all seems redemptive.

Not so. The fact is that out of the blue, my Past pattern of life still exist and ever become a thorn in my soul. It just can’t be wiped no matter how much I pray and struggle to extinguish it!

They say that it is wise to be able to receive all things and also to let go of all things when the time come. I say it is so hard for me to let go of all things.

Why? It is because I Live in My Past. I do live in Present but all I think is just to re-live Past in Present. It is vain; it is like dragging your Past all along, making the Present not fulfilled. I’m Missing the Present while putting time for my Past. I doesn’t enjoy things which I should really enjoy in Present but rather living a nostalgically vain life in my Past, in its illusory irrelevance.

I met Christ  5 years ago. It is a life-transforming encounter. But one pivotal thing I just realize now is that not only He redeemed my sins, He has also Redeemed My Troubled Past! All this time I keep doing things I believe only I can do (Redeeming my Past) but forget that the Savior have done the job the moment I receive Him in my heart. He enlightens me:

Come to me, all of you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.

– St.Matthew, Matthew 11:28, LEB

Now I am a New Soul; a New Creation! No longer do I live in the Past, thinking that it will give me peace; it will only give me insecurities. What I have right now is Present. I have to seize it before it flees. Carpe Diem.

Therefore do not be anxious for tomorrow, because tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

– St.Matthew, Matthew 6:34, LEB

This Present must be viewed and seized not in the picture of my Past, but in the picture of Him within Me doing The Work. Even my Future is already on His grasp.

In Christ, I have a Redeemed Past and a Certain Future in His Kingdom.

I pray you will find similar joy and liberation in Him. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

