Trinity & Faith

One of the Epigma (Epic Enigma) that I’ve learned in my life as a Christian is the doctrine of Trinity. It seems to surpass common conceptions of God such as Monotheism and Polytheism. It is a bit like Monotheism but also has some Polytheistic nuances.

Simply put, Trinity says that God is both three and one at the same time. God IS The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. However, each Godhead IS NOT the Other. Hard to picture them? This diagram called Scutum Fidei might makes it easier for you to understand:

Still feeling that it is mind-bending or non-sensical? I tell you that it’s one of the hardest doctrines in Christianity. So don’t put too much pressure in understanding this if this is your first encounter. Even for us Christians nobody can fully comprehend or explain about this.

We know by logic that A cannot be A and Non-A at the same time. So how does this doctrine stands against simple logic test? I will simply answer since God creates logic, surely God operates on an infinitely higher logic than ours. I will even argue further that no human can ever comprehend or even master logic in a 100% way. So, how can we humans, limited and fallible, use a tool we don’t truly comprehend for an object infinitely greater than that tool?

Theologically, how can we Christians believe in this? As a Christian I say that it’s by faith; in the same way that by faith, Buddhist believe in Reincarnation, Hindus believe in their myriad gods, and Atheists “believe” in science. It does take A GREAT DEAL of faith for one to cross such metaphysical borders.

Thus my short explanation on Trinity. I will explain more on the beauty of it in the future so please stay tuned!!

2 thoughts on “Trinity & Faith

    1. Thanks to what you said. I have to say that I agree to some of your words since I myself learn and teach history. Maybe it’s a matter of perspective but I see grace above all those failings that you describe. And it is by that grace that such faith persist even after death. Grace beyond grave. Again, thanks. Bona Fide.

Leave a Reply

